Chamakh Denies Conning The Ref
Arsenal forward Marouane Chamakh has spoken out about how he did not cheat referee Martin Atkinson into awarding Arsenal a penalty in the game against Birmingham on Saturday.
Chamakh went down in the area under pressure from Scott Dann and Atkinson pointed to the spot, leaving Samir Nasri to fire home the equaliser.
Dann was not impressed about the situation and accused Chamakh of conning the referee.
But the Moroccan striker has hit back saying the enalty was awarded fair and square.
Speaking to the Daily Mirror he said: 'There was definitely a contact - the Birmingham defender touched me and then it was all about the ref, to give it or not.
'For me there was contact, he definitely touched me and then the referee judged.
'If they think it is not a penalty then they can be disappointed but for me I was definitely touched and I fell because I was touched otherwise I wouldn't have fallen down in the area.
'If they believe it was not a foul and they were one-nil up and obviously it changes the game a bit then it's normal that they will feel disappointed now. But for me it was definitely a penalty.'
Join us on FACEBOOK
Win FREE pizza with Vital Football!
Select your team and get 50% off if they score twice.